Custom Approval Workflows FAQ

Can the workflows be edited?

Yes. Users can edit their newly created workflows.

Can you use multiple different workflows for different assessments?

Users must select a particular workflow as a default. That default workflow will be used across all the assessment when launching it.

Does everyone need to approve their stage of the assessment to move to the next stage?

Everyone needs to approve in order for the stage to move to the next stage, but there is an option to bypass other approvers if that toggle is enabled. Users can bypass other approvers in their stage and can move to the next stage.

Where can you add approvers to different approval stages?

Users can add approvers while launching an assessment and/or from the Metadata Info pane after the Assessment has been launched.

Where can you add new custom stages?

Users can currently only add new custom staged between In Progress and Completed stages.

Can other stage reviewers see who has approved/rejected in other stages?

Yes, from the footer, you can see all the stage assignments along with their approval votes and timestamp.

How is the approval status of the assessment calculated?

The final stage vote counts toward the overall status of the assessment.

Note:

For example: If the final stage status is Rejected, then the Assessment will be Rejected and if its Approved, then it will be Approved.

Should approvers be able to move back to In Progress from any review stage?

For MVP, approvers are ONLY able to send back to In Progress (not previous review stages).

How do we handle Reset/Retain approvers option when sending back to In Progress/previous review stage?

If user Resets reviews and moves back to In Progress, all reviews are cleared and assessment goes back through all review stages.

If user Retains reviews and moves back to In Progress, and resubmits, the assessment automatically goes to last reviewed stage along with reviews retained.

When you re-open a completed assessment, which stage will it go to?

The assessment will be re-opened to the Final Review Stage and only reviews in the last review stage will be cleared.

For Copy/Reassess, what happens to the approver stage assignments?

Approver stage assignment gets Reset - All added approvers are assigned to all approval stages.

How do I see the new custom approval stage on my Assessment List Page?

You'll have a new column that users can add to their column view which will inform them: Which workflow is being followed and Custom Review Stage status of the assessment.

Are we able to skip stages?

This functionality is not supported currently.

Are we able to edit the Stage Details in an Archived workflow?

No, users cannot edit a workflow in any way when it is Archived status.

Can we delete workflows?

Users can delete draft workflows - cannot delete published workflows.

Users can also archive published workflows.

Can you have multiple workflows active at one time, and how do you associate a particular workflow with a specific assessment template?

Yes, you can have multiple workflows enabled for templates. For more information, see Utilizing Routing Rules from Assessment Workflow Screen.

Is it possible to auto-assign approvers based on the workflow or is the only way to apply approvers is to manually check the box when launching the assessment?

Currently, you can assign approvers to approval stages only while launching an assessment.

Permissions

EditApprovalStageAssessment: This permission allows users to edit stage assignment(s) for approvers from Assessment Details screen.

ManageAssessmentWorkflows: This permission allows users to create and edit custom approval workflows.